Curriculum Structure


At Claycots we strive to create a creative, dynamic learning environment that provides all children with the opportunity to reach their full potential. Careful personalised planning ensures that children’s needs  and interests are supported, guided and challenged in a way that is meaningful for them.


Aims of the Early Years Foundation Stage

The curriculum of the EYFS underpins all future learning by supporting, fostering, promoting and developing children’s:

Personal, social and emotional well-being

Positive attitudes and dispositions towards their learning

Social skills

Communication and language

Reading and writing


Understanding of the world

Physical development

Creative arts and design

There are seven areas of learning and development that shape our curriculum. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas, the prime areas, begin to develop quickly in response to relationships and experiences, and run through and support learning in all other areas. The prime areas continue to be fundamental throughout the EYFS. They are:

Communication and Language

Physical development

Personal, Social and Emotional development

We also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas include essential skills and knowledge. They grow out of the prime areas, and provide important contexts for learning. The specific areas are:



Understanding the world

Expressive arts and design         

None of these areas of Learning and Development can be delivered in isolation from the others, our topic based approach stems from children’s interests and needs, therefore developing a personalised curriculum that is relevant to them.


Characteristics of Effective Learning

How children learn is fundamental in providing purposeful activities and learning that will move them forward. The characteristics of learning are:

Active Learning

Playing and exploring

Creating and thinking critically

These should be planned for and used for assessment purposes. At the end of the Foundation Stage parents will be given information not only on their achievement throughout the year but also their preferences of learning.

The characteristics of effective learning describe factors which play a central role in a child’s learning and in becoming an effective learner.  They highlight how children are learning and underpin all seven areas of learning and development, representing processes rather than outcomes.